4 Week Year 11 Music Unit – The aspect of Performance

Hi there,

Attached below is a 4 week unit plan for year 11 music I created for my university assignment. This unit plan I designed is based around an excursion to the wonderful QPAC where my students would be exposed to the incredible atmosphere of the Lyric Theatre. After watching a number of up and coming artists perform, and being inspired, my students are to choose a song from a list provided with a variety of genres and prepare for their own performance in front of their peers three weeks later. The students can either perform as a solo artist or create a small ensemble group, the choice is theirs!

I really enjoyed developing this unit as it is exactly the kind of creative assessment I want to implement and teach when I am well into my career as a teacher. I think inspiring students is a great way to help them engage in the assessment and aid them to develop and create new ideas for their performance skills and knowledge.

Please, take a look, I hope you enjoy!

Performance Unit Plan

Leave a comment