Overhead Projectors? ..really..?

I can safely say that I did not expect schools to still have overhead projectors sitting around! I got quite a shock when I walked into a class and an overhead projector was being used to deliver a lesson. I guess I just thought that with most classrooms having built in digital projectors that the good ol’ overheads would become obsolete?

Having said that, I can definitely see the appeal of the OP, they are simple, easy to use, and don’t ever really malfunction. But the limitations are something which will always turn me towards utilizing the digital projectors. They are an invaluable resource in the classroom. But maybe the question here is, has there been enough PD in how to utilize the digital projector’s to their upmost potential? All interesting thoughts..

This post was inspired by one of my fellow uni students who also had the pleasure of seeing an overhead projector at her school.

https://daniellecrocker1.wordpress.com/2015/05/25/overhead-projector/

Leave a comment