The Concept Map approach.

Wow, well before beginning my study of this course I can honestly say I never saw the real benefit in creating concept maps. I decided to take an approach which was more specific to one of my teaching areas which I think many people may not see the benefit of using ICTs as tools in the teaching, this being music. Now obviously there aren’t as many bubbles as there would be if I was brainstorming just general reasons for using ICTs in teaching, but, I feel as though these few ideas as to WHAT actual ICTs in music can be utilized in terms of composition, performance and theory can be quite beneficial as well. Once I sat down to create my map in terms of where I might use ICTs in music, I was quite surprised to what I had in front of me. Until you actually put down onto paper where and when you use certain ICTs, you may not realize just how important they are to the tasks being considered, and how you could have ever possibly gone without. I found this activity very useful, and also a bit of a wake up call.

concept map

Leave a comment